Egg White and Avocado Salad

9 May

I generally recipe hunt every day, and over the past few days I’ve had a desire for egg salad. I adapted my recipe from Martha Stewart Egg White and Avocado Salad. I had to tweak it a bit since I don’t like fruit in salads, and I forgot to buy celery. It turned out really well, and I am sure I will be making it more often!

Ingredients

4 hard boiled eggs, whites only, chopped

1/2 cup chopped cucumber

1/3 cup red onion

1 avocado cubed

1 tablespoon chopped cilantro

Pinch of cayenne pepper

2 tablespoons miracle whip

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

2 teaspoons fresh squeezed lemon juice (I just squeezed out some of a lemon)

 

Directions

Place all ingredients in a large bowl. Gently toss until well combined.

Gotta love a good closeup. You could probably use the same general recipe for tuna salad and chicken salad as well.

3 Responses to “Egg White and Avocado Salad”

  1. Race Files May 15, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    Hey Betisha, Thanks for liking my blog. I like cooking, too! I used to keep an online journal about a long sojourn in MX where I lived for two years a while back. Avocados became a favorite food of mine. I especially liked making avocado bread. If you want the recipe, I can send it to you.

    • bettishacrocker May 15, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      That. Sounds. Amazing! Yes, I would love the recipe.

      • Race Files May 15, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

        Avocado Bread

        2 and 2/3 cups of flour
        1 and 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda
        1 teaspoon of baking powder
        1 and 1/4 teaspoon of salt
        3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
        1/2 cup of softened butter
        3/4 cup of sour cream
        2 cups of white sugar
        3 eggs
        1 and 1/2 cups of very ripe avocado, mashed up
        3/4 cup of chopped pecans (or macadamia nuts)
        1/2 cup of raisins
        1 tablespoon of finely grated orange zest
        2 teaspoons of lime juice

        Preheat your oven to 350. Grease and flour two 9×5 inch loaf pans. Sift the dry ingredients together. Then, in a medium bowl, cream the sugar and butter until fluffy and then beat in the eggs, dropping them in one at a time. Then mix in the mashed avocado. Stir in the dry ingredients a little at a time, alternating with the sour cream. Add the lime juice and orange zest, chopped pecans and raisins.

        Pour the mixture into the loaf pans and bake for one hour or until a cake tester inserted in the middle of each loaf comes out clean. Allow the loaves to cool before removing from the pans.

Leave a Reply

