Chiapparelli’s Restaurant

29 Mar

Location: 237 S. High St, Jonestown, Baltimore, MD 21202

My good friend Sara and her family have been going to the establishment for a number of years. She decided to have her birthday dinner there tonight.

Location/Atmosphere: The restaurant is in Little Italy, between a few more Italian restaurants. The establishment is small, and from what I was told, it has been there for at least 30 years.

Food: The food was simple and pretty delicious. I ordered the gnocchi Bolognese, as well as a bellini. The gnocchi was cooked perfectly and the meat sauce was simple but flavorful.

Service: THIS is where things took a turn for the worst. Our server, Helen, did not speak to me after I placed my entrée order. Every time she refilled a water glass, or handed someone at the table their food, she reached DIRECTLY into me or over me. I can say with certainty it happened at least 7 times. She took everyone’s plate for clean up or doggy bag except for mine. My friend Sara had to ask her TWICE to take my plate for my doggy bag, since she would not stand next to me long enough for me to make the request myself.

Would I recommend it?: If you are black, no. I am not sure what the other waitress is like, but Helen ruined my experience. It has been a very long time since I have felt unwanted in a restaurant. I will never get used to it. It only gets 1/5 stars from me.

One Response to “Chiapparelli’s Restaurant”

  1. Ihesha ReMa March 29, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    That really sucks and I hate that you had to go through that. Don’t know if I would’ve been able to keep my composure being disrespected in such a way. You get 5/5 stars from me for keeping your calm 🙂

Leave a comment