Eggplant and Mozzarella Melt

31 Mar

I found this recipe on Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food website. I love her and all things involving her. Her recipe is below. I did use Panko Japanese bread crumbs because they are my faves. I also used a tomato and basil spaghetti sauce.  Enjoy!

Ingredients

2 large eggs

Coarse salt and ground pepper

3/4 cup plain dried breadcrumbs

Olive oil for baking sheet

1 medium eggplant (about 1 pound) sliced into 1/2-inch-thick rounds

1 loaf (8 ounces) soft Italian bread

2 cups store-bought tomato sauce

8 ounces part-skim mozzarella cheese thinly sliced

Directions

Preheat oven to 475 degrees. In a shallow bowl, lightly beat eggs with 1 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Spread breadcrumbs in a pie plate or shallow bowl.

Oil a rimmed baking sheet. Dip eggplant rounds in egg, then dredge in breadcrumbs, turning to coat completely; transfer to prepared baking sheet. Bake (without turning) until golden and tender, 15 to 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, split bread lengthwise, and place cut side up on another baking sheet; press gently in centers to create a well. Layer both halves with tomato sauce, eggplant, and cheese. Bake until cheese is browned in spots, 6 to 8 minutes.

My love of tomato sauce is obscene.

Add the yummy, crunchy eggplant slices.

My roommate and I ate a good amount of this cheese, glad I bought 16 oz.

Hello melty goodness!

Oh yea, it’s delicious. Pictured with my roasted red potatoes.

Had to get one more picture it. It was DELICIOUS! I will be making this again!

Leave a Reply

